In honor of Star Wars 40th anniversary, I wanted to have a Star Wars Marathon...But I didn't know what order to watch them in. After I asked around, apparently this is a subject of much discussion amongst nerds...


Some people say that you should watch them in the order that they came out:


Episode IV: A New Hope
Episode V: The Empire Strikes Back
Episode VI: Return of the Jedi
Episode I: The Phantom Menace
Episode II: The Clone Wars
Episode III: Revenge of the Sith
Episode VII: The Force Awakens
Rogue One


But others argue that you should watch Rogue One BEFORE you watch A New Hope. Which makes sense because Rogue One leads directly into A New Hope.


Others say you have to watch the episodes in numerical order, not by the order they came out. (Episode I, II, III, IV, V...etc.) You can add Rogue One before A New Hope if you want to, but some people say that Rogue One shouldn't be in a Star Wars marathon because it's "not really part of the anthology".


Many people, however, say that a true Star Wars marathon should only include A New Hope, Empire, Return of the Jedi, and the Force Awakens. They just cut out the prequels all together because they hate them so much.


There are some hardcore Star Wars fans out there that view Episode I-III as the Nickelback of the Star Wars world. Like, when you're talking about it with friends, all you have are negative things to say, but when you get home you think to yourself "Well, there were a few good parts, I guess..."


So, what's the true order? By release date? By numerical order? Do I cut out the first three? Or Rogue One?


Or do I just Order 66 the whole thing, get pizza, and binge watch something on Netflix?

More From WGBF-FM