Legal Age For Babysitting in Kentucky-We Were Shocked By The Answer
It's the holidays and many of us need a babysitter. Do you know the legal age for a babysitter in Kentucky and other states? We found out and you'll be shocked by the answer.
BABYSITTING WAS MY FIRST JOB
I never had any younger siblings but I grew up babysitting from the time I was 11 years old. We lived in Toledo, Ohio and a lot of our neighbors had children. Our next-door neighbor had 6 children and she would ask me to watch them when she went to the grocery or her and her husband had a date night. I was 12 years old at the time and my mom was just a few steps away. Then they moved across town and I didn't have the comfort of my mom next door but I had watched the kids enough to know how to handle myself and my mom was just a phone call away.
THINGS HAVE EVOLVED SINCE I WAS A TEEN
A lot has changed since I was a teenager. There are both pros and cons to the scenario of leaving a teen home with your child. They now have cell phones that can be a distraction especially if you expect the babysitter to play with your child and entertain them. If you don't mind them sitting on the couch while your kid does whatever then this may not be a problem but you are paying them to WATCH your child. Having a cell phone at their fingertips means they can send you updates and pictures if you ask for them. You can be sure to get in touch with them when needed as well.
WHAT IS THE LEGAL BABYSITTING AGE IN KENTUCKY?
You'll be surprised the know that there are only a handful of states that actually have a legal age set for babysitting. Here are those states according to worldpopulationreview.com;
- 14 Years Old: Illinois
- 12 Years Old: Mississippi, Delaware, and Colorado
- 11 Years Old: Michigan
- 10 Years Old: Washington, Tennessee, Oregon, and New Mexico
- 9 Years Old: North Dakota
- 8 Years Old: North Carolina, Maryland, and Georgia
- 6 Years Old: Kansas
- No Age: 39 states
I can almost guess I am not alone when I say I am a bit shocked at Kansas with the age of 6 being legal. My daughter is six and I wouldn't leave her home alone for any period of time.
Neither Kentucky nor Indiana have a set law on the legal age for babysitting. I did find on this on wehavekids.com
Indiana - There is no minimum age law in this state. However, most law enforcement officials in this state think that leaving a child under the age of 10 is ill-advised. They suggest waiting until at least 12 years old.
Kentucky - There isn't a law regarding minimum age, however, Child Protective services said that if you leave a child under the age of 11 you may be investigated for child neglect.
PREPARE YOUR BABYSITTER
Ultimately, if you are the parent and if you find a trustworthy teen you feel can take care of your children then that is up to you. You need to make sure that you have prepared them before you leave them alone.
We found a great checklist to help your sitter be successful;
- Contact information for you and your partner. Have your sitter put your and your partner's cell phone numbers in his or her phone.
- Emergency contact information.
- A mapped escape route.
- Medical information about your baby.
- Food and drink list.
- Activity schedule.