Is It Illegal to Shoot Fireworks in Indiana on New Year’s Eve?
Another year is coming to a close, and regardless of what kind of year it's been for you, chances are you're looking forward to what the new year will bring and will be getting together with family and friends to usher it in with a get-together full of food, fun, and maybe even a drink or five. But what if you'd like to send the year out with a bang by shooting a few fireworks into the sky as the clock strikes midnight on January 1st? Does Indiana law allow you to do so, or does that type of celebrating only apply to the 4th of July?
What Indiana Law Says About Shooting Fireworks on New Year's Eve
Whether you want to fire off some Roman Candles, Bottle Rockets, Wind Whippers, Sky Ticklers, or one of those made-up fireworks David Spade rattled off in Joe Dirt, you're in luck. According to the Indiana State Police (ISP), you are more than welcome to do so.
According to the ISP:
Fireworks may be discharged only between the hours of 9:00 a.m. to 11:00 p.m. any day except on Memorial Day, Fourth of July, Labor Day, and New Year's Eve when the times are 9:00 a.m. to midnight. It is important to check with local officials, as local ordinances may restrict the use of fireworks.
Now then, before you go lighting fuses all willy-nilly, there are a couple of important things note in that statement:
- As far as the state is concerned, you don't have to wait for a holiday to shoot fireworks. You can do it any day of the year as long as you stay within the timeframe listed.
- Check with your local authorities to see what their rules are. Even though the state may be cool with it, your local government may not be or may have a different timeframe you're allowed to use them.
Other Important Things to Know About Indiana's Fireworks Laws
Here are the other things you need to know from the Indiana State Police to keep yourself out of trouble when shooting fireworks on New Year's Eve, or any other day for that matter.
- Only individuals 18 years of age or older may purchase fireworks.
- A person 18 years of age or older must be present when anyone younger than 18 is using or possessing fireworks.
- Fireworks may be used only on the user’s property, the property of someone who granted permission for fireworks to be discharged, or a place designated by the Indiana State Fire Marshal for the discharge of consumer fireworks.
The ISP also says violating the law can be charged with a class "C" infraction. That gets kicked up to a class A misdemeanor if you cause property damage, a Level 6 felony if someone sustains a bodily injury, or a Level 5 felony if someone dies.
So, have your fun, but be careful and make sure you're staying within the rules of the law.
Happy New Year!
[Source: Indiana State Police]
7 Weapons You Can Legally Own in Indiana That Aren't Guns
Gallery Credit: Ryan O'Bryan