I wish I could say the big news what that another title fight was being added to the UFC 151 card, or that two big name fighters have been added. But that is not the case. In fact, the big news sucks! The big news is that UFC 151 has been cancelled.

But why you say? Well, it was announced earlier that main event challenger Dan Henderson had to withdrawal from the fight due to an injury. Hendo apparently suffered a partially torn MCL during training. Henderson was scheduled to face UFC Light Heavyweight Champ Jon Jones on Saturday, September 1st. And with no real main event available, the UFC decided to cancel the entire event. Honestly the rest of the card wasn't a super strong lineup (in my opinion). According to UFC President Dana White, this is the first time in 11 years that an entire event has been cancelled like this.

UFC middleweight and MMA's resident loudmouth Chael Sonnen instantly volunteered to fight Jones...but the champ refused to fight Sonnen on just eight days notice. In a conference call, Dana White said he was "disgusted" by Jones' decision not to fight. White went on to say "We've never, ever had a fighter refuse to fight someone...As much as he's won and with all the things he's accomplished in a short amount of time, he's been a champion that hasn't been very popular. I don't think this is going to do wonders for his popularity." White went on to call Jones' trainer Greg Jackson a "f--king sport killer" for advising Jones that accepting the Sonnen fight on short notice would be the biggest mistake of his entire career. White added that Jones is the first champion in UFC history to turn down a fight.

Jon "Bones" Jones is now scheduled to defend his strap against former champ Lyoto "The Dragon" Machida at UFC 152 on September 22nd. I believe they are going to call the September 22nd event UFC 151.

Now, unless things change, the new UFC 151 card should be spectacular. Check it out below. And thanks to MMAJunkie.com for all of the great info.

MAIN CARD (Pay-per-view)

  • Champ Jon Jones vs. Lyoto Machida - for light-heavyweight title
  • Joseph Benavidez vs. Demetrious Johnson - for inaugural flyweight title
  • Michael Bisping vs. Brian Stann
  • Evan Dunham vs. T.J. Grant
  • Matt Hamill vs. Vladimir Matyushenko
  • Charles Oliveira vs. Cub Swanson


  • Vinny Magalhaes vs. Igor Pokrajac
  • Dan Miller vs. Sean Pierson
  • Marcus Brimage vs. Jim Hettes
  • Seth Baczynski vs. Simeon Thoresen
  • Mitch Gagnon vs. Walel Watson