Norwegian avant-garde black metallers Borknagar have announced their 11th album, True North. The full record won’t be released until Sept. 27, but you can hear the cathartic new single “The Fire That Burns” right now.

Borknagar’s new work is their first since vocalist Vintersorg, guitarist Jens F. Ryland and drummer Baard Kolstad departed from the band. ICS Vortex, former clean singer for Dimmu Borgir, has resumed his position as Borknagar’s lead vocalist.

“The Fire That Burns” is a piece of true Nordic melancholy, mixing traditional northern scales with soaring vocals. ICS Vortex’s clean singing remains captivating, reminiscent of what made Dimmu Borgir one of extreme metal’s biggest bands in the 2000s.

“Finally, the very first single from our upcoming album True North is unleashed upon the world, entitled 'The Fire that Burns.' On the verge of releasing our 11th album, we’re naturally bound to reflect some about our lengthy past, all the music we have created and all the fights we have fought,” says founding guitarist Øystein G. Brun.

“In the name of music. Still we are here after 25+ years, stand firm on our musical visions and ready to boot up for yet another musical journey - wherever that may lead in this vast and wondrous world. So when deciding the first song to be released, 'The Fire That Burns' was an easy pick. Not because the song represents True North as a whole, neither because of the song represents some sort of musical peak. True North is way too diverse for such a pick and please concept. But rather it was chosen because of the nature of the song. Musically it’s true towards the musical heritage of Borknagar, and last but not least, the song deals with 'The Fire That Burns.' Forever. The very spark that makes life a greater probability than death. Enjoy and rock on!”

Listen to “The Fire That Burns” and see the True North album art and track listing below. To pre-order the album, click here.

Borknagar, "The Fire That Burns"

Century Media
Century Media

1. Thunderous
2. Up North
3. The Fire That Burns
4. Lights
5. Wild Father's Heart
6. Mount Rapture
7. Into the White
8. Tidal
9. Voices
10. Wild Father’s Heart (Instrumental Demo Version) * Bonus Track
11. Up North (Demo Version) * Bonus Track

Top 30 Black Metal Albums of All Time

More From WGBF-FM